Rate this page:
As the Marketplace grows, it's important for app users to be able to find current, relevant apps. Therefore, we try to retire apps that are no longer relevant or compatible with their Atlassian products. This helps Marketplace visitors easily discover current and relevant apps, and reduces the likelihood of finding outdated apps.
There are two ways for apps to become retired:
The Marketplace automatically retires an app if the time since the end-of-life (EOL) of the latest version of the Atlassian product that the app supports is more than one year.
Automatic retiring of apps works for both cloud and server apps. For EOL dates of Atlassian products and product versions, see Atlassian Support End of Life Policy.
We have EOL terms for manually retiring apps that are paid via Atlassian. The following terms only apply to apps with active customers:
The process for manually retiring an app works slightly differently for each app type. Read the section that corresponds to your situation below:
Only Atlassian Marketplace team members can manually archive Atlassian server apps.
If your app contains server versions, you need to do the following:
Once the app is archived, you may still need to release bug fix versions to customers, as part of your ongoing maintenance responsibilities. In these situations, you can either:
Atlassian cloud apps built with Forge and Connect can only be deleted from the Marketplace; they can't be manually archived. Unlike with server apps, once you delete a cloud app, the app stops working for all customers.
If your app only contains cloud versions, you need to:
Once the final maintenance date has passed for the last customer's license, we are then able to delete the cloud app from the Marketplace.
It's currently only possible to archive a whole app listing. This means that you can’t archive just the cloud or server version of an app. Note that only an Atlassian Marketplace team member can archive an app.
Atlassian cloud apps can only be deleted from the Marketplace; they cannot be manually archived. Unlike with server apps, once you delete a cloud app, the app ceases to function for all customers.
If your app contains both cloud and server versions, you need to do the following:
Once the final maintenance date has passed for the last customer's license, we are then able to delete both cloud and server versions of the app from the Marketplace. If there are still customers with valid server licenses, you must adhere to the license agreement, and continue providing support until this period is up.
Free apps still require some form of communication outlining that they are to be retired. However, this is more relevant to cloud apps because cloud apps stop working once removed from the Marketplace.
If you have a marketing platform, such as a blog, website, or forum, you can use this platform to announce the retirement of your app. If you have active customers, we recommend a notice period of 90 days.
Your app listing should also be updated to state that the app will be retired from the Marketplace on a particular date.
Once the communication has been distributed with ample warning, raise a ticket with the Atlassian Marketplace team at our Service Desk.
Rate this page: